RSS
Link
26 Oct

Stepping out of the Shadows

My father once told me, “Don’t go through your life trying to please your parents because you never will.” I should have listened. I tried to be a writer just like my dad, instead of being the writer I am. I absolutely loved my father and it has taken me more than two decades to realize that what he said about my work wasn’t negative. If his life taught me anything it was the power of words and the healing nature of writing. When the two merge, it’s beautiful. Miss you dad. Wish you could read me now.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 26, 2013 in Weekly Columns

 

Leave a Reply

 
